Home Book retailers 2022 Harvey Awards Announce Best Comics of the Year

2022 Harvey Awards Announce Best Comics of the Year


The winners of the 2022 Harvey Awards were announced during New York Comic Con on October 8. The Harvey Awards, which began in 1988, are one of comics’ oldest and most prestigious awards. They were named after Harvey Kurtzman, an American comic book pioneer who is best known for creating MAD reviewed in 1952.

Outstanding comics, manga, graphic novels and more were voted by a panel of professional creators, publishing professionals, librarians and comic book retailers who were chosen by ReedPOP and the executive committee of the Harvey Awards. This year’s awards were coordinated by Chris D’Lando, Camilla Di Persia and Eden Miller.

The winners are:

book of the year

“Best graphic novel or long-form collection demonstrating excellence in writing, art, or comics exhibiting excellent form representation.”

The Good Asian, Vol. 1 by Pornsak Pichetshote and Alexandre Tefenkgi (Image Comics)

Digital Book of the Year

“Best comic or collection originally presented in a digital format.”

Lore Olympus by Rachel Smith

Best Book for Children or Young Adults

“Best long-form original graphic novel or collection presented for younger audiences.”

Squire by Nadia Shammas and Sara Alfageeh (HarperAlley)

Best adaptation of Comic/Graphic Novel

“Best adaptation to another medium of a work originally presented as a graphic novel, trade collection or comic strip.”

Ms. Marvel (Disney+) based on Ms. Marvel (Marvel Comics)

best anime

Cover of volume 1 of the man with the chainsaw

“Best single manga of the year translated into English.”

Chainsaw Man by Tatsuki Fujimoto, translated by Amanda Haley (VIZ Media)

best international book

“Best international material translated into English”

sweet paprika by Mirka Andolfo (Image Comics)

Harvey Hall of Fame Award

“Honoring creators who have had a distinguished career or impact on the medium for more than two decades.

Neil Gaiman, writer (Sand seller)

Gilbert Shelton, cartoonist (The Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers)

Roy Thomas, writer, journalist, former editor of Marvel Comics

Marge Buell, cartoonist (Little Lulu)

For a full list of nominees, visit the 2022 Harvey Awards main page.

Find more news and stories of interest from the world of books in breaking books.